I think that my mind has not changed much in the last 50 years. I still believe in Jesus as God’s Son who redeems us and shows us the way, the truth and the life. I still believe Jesus is the perfect example of human living and from whom I can get daily insight.          

I still believe that peaceful solving of social and political problems is superior to military solutions. I still believe that human greed must be hemmed in as much as possible by legislation. I still believe in democracy and sharing of power as the best way to strengthen the social fabric of the nation and the world.

TV is harder to watch with my light sensitive eyes due to its constant use of flashes, explosions & change of lighting in both ads and programming. Maybe it is just as well, because TV seems to have less content to offer than some years ago. My local newspapers are not much help either, so reading the internet is my best option.

I am distressed that there are no strong compassionate social movements or social heroes in our nation now as there were in the 1960s. The prophets appeared only occasionally in Biblical history, so perhaps I shouldn’t expect another M.L. King to appear on the scene in my lifetime. Nevertheless, I shall hope and pray.

Virden Seybold, 2011

